They're some of the world's most famous and loved landmarks, but these iconic buildings are not the originals. From those ravaged by fire to those bombed by enemy attack, these incredible structures were all rescued from the brink and either restored or completely rebuilt.
Click or scroll on as we take a look at some of the world's most famous buildings, before, during and after their (almost) demise.
The original Windsor Castle was constructed in the 11th century under William the Conqueror. It was designed as a fortress but has been used as a royal residence since the reign of King Henry I (1100 to 1135), making it the longest-occupied palace in Europe.
Sitting on 13 acres (5ha) in Berkshire, England, the incredible property stretches 484,000 square feet (44,965sqm) and has 1,000 rooms, 300 fireplaces and nearly 400 clocks. Henry VIII used the castle to pursue country pleasures such as dancing, wrestling, hunting and playing tennis.
Windsor Castle has suffered multiple fires during its 1,000-year history, most notably in November 1992. It's thought the accident began in Queen Victoria's Private Chapel when a faulty spotlight set a curtain alight.
Within minutes, the flames had spread to St George's Hall. 225 firefighters from seven counties arrived on the scene. Fortunately, no one was hurt, and thanks to renovation works, many of the castle's rooms had been emptied of their precious artefacts. The fire raged for 15 hours, destroying nine staterooms and severely damaging more than 100 others, but only two works of art were lost.
Restoring the castle was an immense task. A sympathetic hammer-beam roof was installed, constructed from sustainable English oak and crafted using traditional methods and tools. St George's Hall was restored to a design close to the room's original 14th-century appearance, and a new room, The Lantern Lobby, was created where the private chapel once stood.
The renovation was completed on 20 November 1997, five years to the day after the fire broke out and, rather fittingly, the 50th wedding anniversary of Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip. The project is said to have cost around £67 million ($87m).
Barcelona’s Gran Teatre del Liceu opera house dates back to 1837 but was moved to a new site on the city's most famous street, La Rambla. The first stone of the new theatre was laid in April 1845, overseen by architect Miquel Garriga and later Josep Oriol Mestres, and finished two years later in April 1847. It had the largest seating capacity in Europe, accommodating 3,500 spectators.
Sadly, 14 years later in 1861, a fire started in the tailor's shop and quickly spread, reducing the theatre to rubble. The Liceu was rebuilt and opened again in April 1862, but there was more peril to come for this historic building...
On 7 November 1893, during the opening performance of the season, anarchist Santiago Salvador threw two Orsini bombs into the stalls. Only one exploded, but at least 20 people lost their lives and numerous more were injured. The Liceu closed its doors until 18 January 1894.
One hundred years later, the theatre faced another devastating incident. A fire broke out on 31 January 1994 (pictured), gutting the striking interior and leaving the building without a roof.
After a year, funding was raised to rebuild the theatre and its design was kept as close to the previous version as possible. This image shows just how beautiful the interior of the theatre is, with its ornate embellishments, gilded details and soaring ceiling.
In October 1999, the third iteration of the Liceu hosted its inaugural performance. Today, the theatre remains a hub for the arts in Barcelona and puts on numerous shows every year.
Montreal City Hall was the first building in Canada constructed solely to accommodate government officials. The Second Empire-style property was built between 1872 and 1878 and designed by architects H.-M. Perrault and A.C. Hutchison.
They aimed to create a structure that illustrated the growth of the city of Montreal and its public services. The scale of the building and the elaborate decoration of the exterior "allowed the city to project its importance in North American trade and commerce, to showcase local craftsmanship and to celebrate its French heritage," according to the Government of Canada's official website.
In 1922, a devastating fire ravaged the building, leaving only its outer walls remaining. The original castle-esque roof was destroyed, as well as many of the city’s important historic records.
Once the flames were extinguished, it was time to salvage what could be saved and rebuild the beautiful property. Architect Louis Parent was commissioned to undertake the restoration and his approach was to design something sympathetic to the original building, using the same artisanal techniques employed during the original build.
By putting a steel structure inside the shell of the ruins, architect Louis Parent was able to retain the original façade. Inspired by the city hall of Tours, France, the mansard roof uses copper instead of slate tiles. He also completely restored the original limestone exterior, which had become brittle due to the high temperatures of the fire.
To mitigate the impact of the three-year project on locals and tourists, a canvas printed with a full-scale photograph of the building was wrapped around the scaffolding. Today, Montreal City Hall is a National Historic Site of Canada and is open to the public for tours.
The 18th-century Frauenkirche was crafted by famed carpenter George Bähr, who designed a stunning Baroque church topped with a decorative cupola dome, which took 17 years to build.
It was opened to worshippers in 1734 before it was finished. In 1736, a Silbermann organ was installed and, shortly after, Johann Sebastian Bach performed inside the church. Over the years, the building's dome and pillars suffered structural damage, but Bähr passed away before any repairs could be carried out. In May 1743, a cross was placed on top of Frauenkirche, marking its completion.
Despite taking almost two decades to take shape, the church required constant restorations. During the 20th century, the church was completely restored, but towards the end of the Second World War, Dresden was heavily bombed during a three-day Allied attack.
The strike levelled the city and left tens of thousands dead. Amazingly, Frauenkirche survived the bombing of the city, but it collapsed two days later. Instead of rebuilding the church immediately after the end of the war, the German government decided to leave the ruins in place. They remained untouched for almost 50 years, acting as a war memorial (pictured).
Some 45 years later, in 1990, the city of Dresden asked for donations from around the world so they could rebuild the iconic structure. Three years later, the rubble was cleared away and the first stone was placed on the site in May 1994. The interior was completed in 2004 and the church was opened to keen worshippers and tourists a year later.
Today, Frauenkirche welcomes two million visitors and hosts 120 church services a year. Between 2010 and 2018, five Nobel Peace Prize winners spoke in the Frauenkirche, defining the building as a symbol of hope, rebirth and, above all, peace.
Kapellbrücke, or the Chapel Bridge, is one of the most famous landmarks in Switzerland. Located in the heart of Lucerne, it is considered Europe's oldest covered bridge and was likely built around 1360 as part of the city's fortifications.
The 113-foot (35m) Water Tower was constructed before the bridge as a lookout post, sometime between 1290 and 1300. It housed the city’s archives until 1919 and even served as a treasury and prison.
This image was captured in September 1989, just four years before a devastating blaze almost caused this iconic structure to be lost for good...
A significant portion of the Chapel Bridge caught fire on the night of 17 August 1993. The exact cause has never been established, but it’s thought that a boat moored underneath the bridge was set alight thanks to a discarded cigarette.
The fire spread rapidly through the timber bridge and spiders’ webs in the gables are said to have accelerated the flames. It destroyed two-thirds of the 672.6-foot-long (205m) bridge, and all that could be saved were the two bridgeheads and the Water Tower. Sadly, 86 of 111 important triangular paintings depicting Lucerne throughout history were burned, either partially or beyond recognition.
Reconstruction began in early 1994. Amazingly, the work was completed two months later, on 11 April, just eight months after the fire. The project is said to have cost CHF 3.4 million, which is £3 million ($3.9m).
Around 200 journalists from around the world attended the reopening ceremony and the then Director of Tourism for Lucerne, Kurt H Illi, was so moved to see the prominent landmark restored that he cried tears of joy. Today, the bridge connects the Lucerne Theatre on the south bank of the Reuss River to St. Peter's Chapel.
The White House has been the residence and workplace of the US president since the turn of the 19th century. Designed by Irish-born architect James Hoban, it took inspiration from Leinster House in Dublin.
Work began in 1792, and after eight years, President John Adams and his wife Abigail moved into the unfinished residence. Costing around £6 million ($7.7m) in today's money, the Georgian mansion initially had around 20 principal rooms. When Thomas Jefferson took over in 1801, he imported wallpapers and furnishings from France and turned it into one of America's finest houses.
During the War of 1812, British troops invaded Washington DC and soldiers ransacked the mansion, stealing anything of value, before setting it alight. Luckily, Dolley Madison, the former First Lady of the United States, managed to rescue the iconic painting of George Washington.
After the fire had been extinguished, only a charred shell remained. James Hoban was called in once again to redesign the property. The new iteration of the White House was completed by 1817. The architect was hired once again in 1824 to build the South Portico for President James Monroe and again in 1829 to add the North Portico for President Andrew Jackson.
In 1902, President Theodore Roosevelt began a major renovation of the property and his successor, President William Howard Taft, added the Oval Office. Less than 50 years later, the White House showed signs of structural weakness. President Harry S Truman commissioned yet another renovation, and everything but the outer walls was dismantled.
Since then, each President has made changes and additions to the building, decorating the interior rooms as they see fit. Today, the iconic building features six levels, 132 rooms, 147 windows, eight staircases and 35 bathrooms. It also requires 570 gallons (2,158 litres) of white paint to cover its exterior.
Chapultepec forest has a history that goes back three thousand years. During the 18th century, a pleasure mansion was built on one of the slopes of Chapultepec Hill for the viceroy Bernardo de Gálvez, the Spanish Crown ruler of New Spain.
Sadly, de Gálvez died soon after, so the project was never fully completed. Left abandoned, the building was eventually sold to the Mexico City municipal government in 1806. The castle stood empty until well after the War for Independence ended. Then, in 1833, it was turned into a military academy.
The school was the extent of the castle’s military history until 13 September 1847. The Mexican-American War had been raging for more than a year, and dozens of ambushes had taken place on both land and sea. The attack on Chapultepec Castle was the last and the US military took hold of it within an hour, quickly leading to the occupation of Mexico City.
During the Battle of Chapultepec, six military cadets were given orders to abandon the academy, but instead, they decided to defend the castle. Today, these men are remembered as the "Niños Héroes" (Boy Heroes).
Despite the battle lasting for less than 60 minutes, the building was obliterated by cannon fire. Luckily, it was restored and later became the residence of Maximilian von Habsburg and his wife, Charlotte of Belgium, who were then the emperor and empress of Mexico. It was renovated in neoclassical style and named Miravalle Castle. The new residence featured more than 50 rooms, including a Smoking Lounge for Maximilian and a Tea Room for Charlotte.
Today, the castle houses Mexico's National History Museum and it sits on UNESCO's Tentative List, meaning that one day it may be designated a World Heritage Site.
The Palace of Justice is one of the most impressive monuments in Brussels, Belgium. Following an international competition for the construction of a new courthouse, the job was given to the architect Joseph Poelaert, who was on the competition jury! He designed a colossal building intended to proclaim the country’s accomplishments.
Covering a total surface area of 279,862 square feet (26,000sqm), it sits on one of the highest points in the city, so it could be seen from almost every neighbourhood. The first stone was laid in 1866 and it was finished in 1883, four years after Poelaert’s death and 17 years after construction began.
On 3 September 1944, at the end of the Second World War, locals spotted smoke billowing from the Palais de Justice. After four years of Nazi occupation, Belgium had been liberated and the German soliders set fire to the palace as they fled, intending to destroy it and the important legal records it contained.
The blaze quickly melted the building’s metal dome, which eventually collapsed. Explosions inside the building accelerated the fire and blew out the windows, destroying the library, court records, historical documents and many precious artefacts, tapestries and furnishings. After the fire, the Palais de Justice was reconstructed with a taller dome.
But by the 1980s, the Palace required another restoration. Yet for some 40 years, scaffolding wrapped the property, with no end to the remedial works in sight. The extensive delay is said to have been caused by substantial costs – work on the front façade alone is estimated to have cost €32 million (£27m/$35m) – and difficulties in obtaining planning permits.
However, in May 2024, part of the scaffolding was finally removed. The restoration of the façade is estimated to be complete by the end of 2025. It’s hoped that the entire building will be finished by Belgium's 200th anniversary in 2030.
The parliament buildings in Wellington, New Zealand, are not just important from a political point of view. They have also become iconic among locals and tourists alike. But the buildings have faced their fair share of upheaval.
Parliament moved from Auckland to Wellington in 1865, but the Old Government Buildings weren’t finished until 1876. The structure contained 143 rooms, 64 toilets, 126 fireplaces and 22 chimneys, as well as a fireproof library. When it opened, it was the largest building in the country, and until 1998, it was the second-largest wooden building in the world. This image was captured in 1898.
At 2am on 11 December 1907, a night watchman thought he heard rain on the roof of the building. He was wrong – it was a fire! Unsurprisingly, he couldn't prevent the flames from spreading through the wooden structure and the fire brigade was only able to slow the fire down. Members of staff and the public flocked to the site and attempted to rescue as many valuable portraits and library books as possible.
By sunrise, the government buildings had been destroyed, along with many important national treasures and records. Luckily, the library was saved, thanks to its fireproof walls and door.
The ballroom and conservatory of Government House, just across the road, were set up as temporary parliament accommodations while a new structure was built, a task that would take a decade. Only half of the new building was built by 1918, when Parliament moved in. Due to the associated costs, the planned second half was never started.
In 1979, the beehive-shaped Executive Wing was added, dividing local opinion. Despite some naysayers, it was declared ‘a source of national pride’. In 1991, the Parliament Buildings were renovated again, proving the largest in New Zealand’s history, and officials returned in 1996.
The first cathedral dedicated to Saint Paul the Apostle was built in London in 604 CE. Three more were constructed after this, likely in the same part of the city, after their predecessors were destroyed by fire or Viking attacks.
Known as Old St Paul’s Cathedral, the fourth iteration was constructed between 1087 and 1314. It was a colossal building and boasted Europe’s highest spire at the time.
By the early 1600s, the cathedral had fallen into disrepair. An extensive renovation project began in 1630, but work was halted by the English Civil Wars. Then in 1666 it was completely destroyed by one of the most devastating events in England's history, The Great Fire of London.
The fire started on 2 September in a baker's shop on Pudding Lane. Homes at the time were constructed from highly flammable timber and thatch, and were tightly packed together, making it easy for the fire to spread. With a lack of water following months of drought and no official fire brigade to fight the blaze, the city was all but wiped out.
The world-famous building we know today was designed by architect Christopher Wren and the design process took almost a decade. Combining different architectural styles, the property was inspired by Baroque churches and ancient Greek temples. The build took 35 years and work eventually finished in 1710. Standing proud at 364 feet (111m) high, it was the tallest building in London for over 250 years.
In 1913, the cathedral survived a bomb plot by the female activist organisation the Suffragettes during their campaign for the right to vote. An explosive device was planted inside the building, but luckily, a bell-ringer discovered it before it exploded.
Notre-Dame de Paris is undoubtedly one of the most famous cathedrals in the world. Located in the heart of the French capital, the stunning edifice has been an iconic landmark of the city since 1163, although it has changed numerous times over the centuries.
The cathedral was on the brink of collapse by the 19th century, however, the publication of The Hunchback of Notre-Dame by Victor Hugo in 1831 sparked a national movement for its preservation. Despite two world wars, the building remained relatively unscathed. It was named a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1991. But everything changed on 15 April 2019...
At around 6.30pm, a fire broke out under the eaves of Notre-Dame’s roof. Firefighters saved the main structure, including its iconic bell towers and three stained-glass rose windows. Many of the cathedral’s rare Catholic relics and priceless works of art were rescued.
Luckily, nobody was harmed but the majority of the roof was destroyed, including the famous spire. Five years of investigations followed to identify the cause of the fire, but no result was found. It is believed that an electrical fault, a discarded cigarette or something related to renovation works that were taking place could have started the fire.
Unsurprisingly, the event made global headlines and millions around the world pledged financial support. Friends of Notre-Dame de Paris raised £8.2 million ($10.6m) in 2019 from donors from 50 countries. Led by chief architect Philippe Villeneuve, 2,000 artisans and contractors worked on the monumental restoration that is said to have cost approximately £695 million ($900m).
When Notre-Dame reopened on 7 December 2024, hundreds of people queued up to be among the first to step inside (pictured). But the restoration works are not yet complete and are set to continue until the end of 2026.
Loved this? Check out more amazing architecture and iconic buildings